Gibson CEC replacement pickup

Talk about guitars, amps and other gear.

Gibson CEC replacement pickup

Postby harryh » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:12 pm

Hi folks,

I'm new to the ChetBoard and looking for advice about replacing the pickup on an early '80's CEC guitar.
I've completed a number of searches here on the board, as well as other places. What I'm coming up with is, first of all, no support from Gibson on replacement parts!

Accordingly, choices involve a complete replacement....

So far, I've seen the Sam Kennedy re-issue of the Prismatone III pickup that fits into the existing CEC saddle hole, plus the LR Baggs company Hex pickup set, with six separate sensors. The other choices seem to involve filling in the saddle slot, then picking either a Fishman or Baggs undersaddle pickup with a matching preamp.

Can somebody fill me in on what else might be out there?

Thanks, Harry
harryh

Re: Gibson CEC replacement pickup

Postby BillB » Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:11 am

If it were me, I'd probably opt for the Sam Kennedy Prismatone II setup. Kirk Sand is installing them in some of his guitars, and they are very nice pickups. It's nice that they've made one that fits that Gibson bridge, and I think it's probably the only one that is readily available, unless you can find an original that still works. Anything else will be like you said and involve more extra work to the bridge. I've played guitars with the Prismatone II, and I really like it.

Bill B.
BillB

Postby jay » Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:29 pm

I may be totally off base here, but in my minds eye, the Gibson CE and Ovation pickup look very similar in size and shape. If oranges = oranges, then the only hurdle would be the wiring. Those are still available.
jay kantor
jay

Postby harryh » Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:01 pm

Hi fellas,