eroding skills on guitar

Discussion of history's greatest guitar player.

eroding skills on guitar

Postby rhirvine » Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:39 pm

I started playing again about a half year ago after many years of just looking at my guitar across the room on a stand. Of course it was rough at first but I've gotten better over the months. I realized in the last few weeks that I was never going to play the thumb style as well as I used to, for instance I can't seem to do the "walkin on strings" lick that I could do so well years ago. Oh well! Anyway, I got down on myself about it but then realized I'm turning 70 this year and even if I had kept up practice all through the years I probably would be losing some of my ability anyway. I'm still enjoying leading singing for small groups of men at Bible studies and even try to play Merle Travis like intros on the country gospel type songs such as "A Firmer Foundation" and "There's Power In the Blood". It provides a little different sound than a lot of us are used to hearing. I usually can't even muscle memory the intros very well. Having fun though!
rhirvine

Re: eroding skills on guitar

Postby DagerRande » Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:03 pm

Rich, that's sort of a sad story. I haven't picked up on any of that during the times I've spent with you at your place. I'm only a matter of months behind you and will hopefully be able to hold off on some of that for a while longer! I'm just now getting into posting video!
Rande Dager

We are all capable of doing more than we think we can!
DagerRande

Postby rhirvine » Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:45 pm