Joint care and fending off "Arthur"

Discussion of history's greatest guitar player.

Joint care and fending off "Arthur"

Postby Doug Working » Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:48 pm

Now that my left arm is starting to show some signs of healing, and I'm actually thinking about playing again, the whole thing got me to pondering: What if this heals, but I get some other joint condition down the road, such as "Arthur", as my mom calls it? Then I'd be in an even worse boat!

But I'm a pro-active person, and I believe a lot of diseases (especially what are called the "lifestyle diseases", can be prevented if we are careful and thoughtful about our dietary choices and sedulous in applying it.

Arthritis would be a disaster for a guitarist! Or even a pianist!

But there are nutritional supplements on the market. Scads of them. Decisions, decisions, decisions!!!

Anybody here have any good information on products that actually WORK for keeping the joints (and especially the fingers) young and supple?

I'm starting lately to make a daily health smoothie in the mornings. The first ingredients are collagen and gelatin. I'm led to believe that these are both good for the joints (and also hair, skin and nails), but I wonder if anybody here has any thoughts or information on the subject?

Doug
Doug Working

Re: Joint care and fending off "Arthur"

Postby bill raymond » Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:12 pm

Doug, most of these "supplements" are useless. You would be better seeking sound medical advice than all this snake oil that people want to sell you. They're preying on your hopes, not on your sense of reality.
bill raymond

Postby rhirvine » Sun Jan 28, 2018 6:18 pm

Hi Doug. Sorry to hear about your arm injury. what happened? As far as "Arthur" well I play with arthritic abandon as it is so I'm not worried about it affecting my playing :lol:
rhirvine

Postby Doug Working » Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:49 am