Freight Train -- capo or not?

Discussion of history's greatest guitar player.

Freight Train -- capo or not?

Postby mark reinhart » Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:13 pm

Earlier today, I posted about my Chet book project, and I mentioned that I would be asking everyone's opinions about certain aspects of Chet's recording career from time to time. Well, I'm dying of curiosity to ask all of you about one of Chet's best-loved recordings -- so I'm going to pose my first question to all of you! "Freight Train" on the GUITAR COUNTRY album starts out of the key of F and then modulates to the key of C. I've been trying to decide if Chet used a capo on the "key of F" section.

At first, I thought Chet played this part capoless, but the more I listened to it, and the more I studied the way his notes rang out, I began to think that he used a capo at the 5th fret so that he could play the song out of C like he almost always did.

But I can point to evidence that suggests that this part was played capoless. Chet DID almost always play the song out of C, but I found at least one example of him playing the song live in his self-accompanying fingerpicking style out of a different key, the key of D. Of course, D still allows for a lot of open-string notes on a standard-tuned guitar, while F makes things a bit trickier -- but Chet certainly could have worked out playing the song in the key of F if he had really wanted to. (By the way, the "key of C" sections in the recording are definitely played capoless -- you can clearly hear his open A and open low E strings ring out at times.)

So, what do you think? Is the GUITAR COUNTRY "Freight Train" part capoed and part capoless, or is it ALL capoless? If anyone knows the answer to this question, or can offer solid evidence either way, I'd love to hear from you.
mark reinhart

Re: Freight Train -- capo or not?

Postby craigdobbins » Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:27 pm

Mark-