Question about nails

Discussion of history's greatest guitar player.

Question about nails

Postby Jo-Anne Park » Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:12 pm

I don't know where to place a message like this on the board, but here goes...

I sheared off the nail on my middle finger to the quick the other day and it has completely put the kibosh on my playing for a while. It sounds like a song with no melody.

I decided to experiment with artificial nails. Just put them on today and went out to a jam and picked the rockers like Rose Ann, Teenscene, etc. Wow! I like these! I had planned to only keep them until my middle nail came back to length, but I may stay with them, they are so solid, so confidence-inducing.

I have no long term experience with them, however. What should I look out for? How should I maintain them? Is it wise to stay with them? Do you folks have experience? I hear they can develop fungal infections.
Jo-Anne Park

Re: Question about nails

Postby cgprnd » Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:21 pm

Hi Jo-Anne,

Doyle Dykes steered me toward acrylic nails 11 years ago when I questioned him about being able to perform on steel strings for several hours without breaking his nails. I have no problem with fungus. My biggest complaint is the lack
of flexibility. They are thick and don't bend and it's as if I'm playing with little pieces of stone protruding from my fingers.
I have 3 of them redone every 2 weeks or so.

Rande
Rande Dager
cgprnd

Postby Jo-Anne Park » Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:20 pm

The stiffness is what surprised me. I can really dig in. They have the same tonal quality and volume as the delrin thumbpick, so it's a nice match. Sometimes the thumbpick would overpower my real nails, but that's probably due to my inexperience. With the fake nails I can really drive the thumb and the fingers can keep up.

You have them redone every two weeks or so. What does that entail?
Jo-Anne Park

Postby cgprnd » Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:54 am

Hi Jo-Anne,