Help for beginners

Discussion of history's greatest guitar player.

Help for beginners

Postby Mike Detlefsen » Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:29 pm

An email acquaintance asked me to recommend some learning aids for Chet-style. He's into jazz guitar at the moment and has no experience at fingerpicking. I'm self-taught and have no idea what is out there to help learn from scratch. Anybody have some recommendations and where such material might be found?

Mike
Mike Detlefsen

Re: Help for beginners

Postby Tony Enamel » Tue Aug 31, 2010 4:47 pm

Hi Mike,

how about Buster's DVDs? Especially "Fingerstyle Guitar From The Ground Up".

http://www.melbay.com/authors.asp?author=647

Regards,

Ingo
If it ain't got the groove, the bodies won't move.
Tony Enamel

Postby David Elliott » Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:56 pm

I think one of the most helpful instructional books I've ever seen for the beginner, was published some years ago and entitled 'The Anthology of Fingerstyle Guitar' by Tommy Flint. I don't know if it's even still available, but you might Google it.

David
David Elliott

Postby David Elliott » Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:01 pm

Looks like it's on Amazon-dot-com...

http://www.amazon.com/Mel-Bay-Anthology ... 930&sr=8-1

David
David Elliott

Postby bill_h » Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:28 pm

I was gonna recommend Buster B's "From The Ground Up" also and there's also the video that Chet and John Knowles did. I couldn't imagine any better instruction than you'd find with those aids.
bill_h

Postby Bryan B. » Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:19 pm

I have been "deep diving" on this very same topic for for about 2 years and recommend the book/CD "Fingerstyle Guitar Method by Tommy Emmanuel available from Mel Bay.

I have Buster's Vol.1 video but don't like it as much...Tommy Emmanuel's playing technique is that same as Chet's and I have been striving for accuracy.
Bryan B.

Postby David Elliott » Wed Sep 08, 2010 2:57 pm