Need Help with Chet Style Playing

Discussion of history's greatest guitar player.

Need Help with Chet Style Playing

Postby Bryan B. » Sat Jul 23, 2011 12:26 pm

Hi all,

I am a struggling student of Chet's Thumb Style picking and need some help. I have achieved the thumb independance and can play some Chet style TABs, but I would like to understand how to add the thumb bass to a song melody.

I read that Chet said that he would start with learning the song melody, once he had that down, he would then add the bass lines to it...

Does anyone have a source of information that will help me do this?

I was told to start with a very short and simple song such as the "Happy Birthday Song" or "When the Saints Come Marching In"but need help on how to get started.

Thank you

Bryan
Bryan B.

Re: Need Help with Chet Style Playing

Postby Roger Pratt » Sat Jul 23, 2011 1:33 pm

Bryan......The best thing I could suggest to you is to go to Youtube and type in "Thumbpicking Lesson" and there are a number of videos that will give you some insight as to what you are looking for. Tommy Emmanuel has a video for sale that teaches you the basics of the thumb lick like Chet did it. I recommend you get that. Good Luck!!!
Roger Pratt

Postby Fred » Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:10 pm

Hi Bryan, Welcome to the Struggle Club. I've been in that one a long time. Chet has a video lesson called Get Started on Guitar that goes over a lot of the basics. Also Buster B Jones "Fingerstyle from the Ground Up, vol 1 and 2 is chock full of exercises. Pat Kirtley has one too, Intro to Thumbstyle Guitar, they should all get you going. I think most are available at http://www.guitarvideos.com. Enjoy.
Fred
Fred

Postby Bryan B. » Wed Jul 27, 2011 11:28 am

All,

Thank you for all of the kind replies to my post....